Bloopers, Writing and Crying…Oh My!

It’s funny how pressing the delete button can be so easy at times, and so hard at other times. Sometimes, you’ve written this gorgeous (if you do say so yourself) description, full of heartbreak and grief, so of course you don’t want to delete it. It’s art! It’s your legacy! It’s…completely out of character.

So, what do you do? You put it in the bloopers.

But Ella, bloopers only exist for shows and some really popular movies! You can’t make bloopers for writing! 

Well, generic disbeliever, that’s where you’re wrong. By definition, bloopers are bits of art that didn’t quite get into the final draft of the piece; in writing terms, they’re the funny/gorgeous bits of your rough draft. I just copy and paste the pages of writing (while weeping at the reduced word count) onto a separate document, and voila! A blooper reel!

Currently, it’s about 10 pages long, but I think it’s going to be about 80 pages by the time I get to my second draft. So far, it’s just full of sucky writing that I wasn’t really sure what to do with, because it seemed to be too long to just delete.

I can’t be the only one to do this though- come on, spill. Tell me all about your nasty writing habits.

3 thoughts on “Bloopers, Writing and Crying…Oh My!

Leave a Reply

